Should you tell your child about your BDSM relationship?

Leave a comment

March 21, 2015 by jayce428

Don’t listen to Dr. Phil or any other fake doctor on TV, as someone who is still quite young even I know their fakes. Many sites warn that knowing about your BDSM relationship could be damaging to ‘healthy’ children. The first important thing that most children will start being curious about sexual things around 6-12, and that’s something that parents shouldn’t shame their children for – it’s not at all their fault. And they might ask you or not depending how openly and honest you talk about such things – I found myself in a great position where my father would honestly talk to me about just about anything, and he isn’t judgmental at all. 

Now whether you should discuss such things with children, I wouldn’t directly tell them unless they ask you about it but be willing to share information, which is crucial so they don’t feel alienated during puberty, or feel that they should be ashamed about the thoughts that they might have – which is completely natural. I know I’m just a little immature and deny even thinking my parents had/have sex which alright, it’s just something to expect.

I find that many parents don’t believe children should be focused on this aspect of themselves until much older, but sexuality and identity are a focal part of you child’s development. Your children might notice difference in your relationship versus the relationships of their friend’s parents, which they might ask you questions about and you can answer them the way you choose to.

I would say that be as open to your child as you are to your Master or submissive, and let them know right away (when they start understanding you) that you will be completely honest with them (probably to an extent). There are probably details that can wait until they’re 16 or 18, which just after that just be friends with them. I’ve found that as a child my father never really ‘bossed’ me around, but just sort of guided me along to help navigate.

Also, it might be logical that there is no abuse since everything is consensual, and just nip that part in the bud as soon as possible.

That’s my two cents about that subject.

Leave a Reply

