BDSM is not abuse!

Leave a comment

February 12, 2015 by jayce428

I was recently proven wrong. I thought saying this only once was enough, but obviously it has to be reiterated every so often. The reason I’m doing this is because someone I know, and thought I had explained to about what BDSM was made a rude joke. This person loves to watch a show where someone always crying by someone doing something unconsensual and I told them how much that it bothered me, and they pointed out my puppy play and age play gear and compared it to their favorite show.

This obviously pissed me off very much! I told them off and left the room, they since haven’t said anything to me and I made sure to make them feel bad.

People don’t seem to understand the word: CONSENSUAL which is the difference between abuse and BDSM. I tried the concept of consensual and they still don’t understand.

Consensual

adjective con·sen·su·al \kən-ˈsen(t)-sh(ə-)wəl, -shəl, -shü-əl\

: agreed to by the people involved : done with the consent of the people involved.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/consensual

There are many people who will tell you that BDSM is abuse but this is usually for two reasons: (A) they just don’t have the knowledge to judge, and (B) they think that acts of BDSM are sinful. These are the only reasons that I’ve ever come across.

The easiest acronym to use to explain BDSM to someone is RACK (Risk-aware consensual kink), don’t use the SSC (Safe, sane, and consensual) because it’s not accurate. Wanting to be flogged is not technically sane but neither is bungee jumping, but they’re both things people enjoy and go ahead just be aware of the risks.

Leave a Reply

