30 Days of Kink – Day 22 – Healthy BDSM Relationship

Leave a comment

January 20, 2015 by jayce428

What do you think is important in keeping a BDSM relationship healthy?  How does it differ from a vanilla relationship?

tumblr_mv74vmZz2o1rbph97o1_500

There are currently two that I can think of, but these are very important: communication and understanding. I know that there are many more then just two, but it’s something that I see everyday going wrong.

My own parents are good at communication and relating to each other, but they don’t have a BDSM relationship. They’ve been together for 20+ years and have no thought of divorce. So it’s safe to assume that there are exceptions to this, as there is to everything.

A friend’s mother confided in me a while ago that she was ‘getting tired’ of her relationship with her husband of two years, and I found it quite funny because they hadn’t been together for very long. I did find myself wandering how much they talked and relating to each other. In my time visiting I saw that they didn’t talk very much, but she was already contemplating divorce. The part I was most concerned about was that they had four dogs who were brought in after being previously abandoned, and I was concerned about where they’d be left in the midst of the divorce.

I’ve seen BDSM relationships that have thrived, and those who have failed due to a lack of loyalty and communication. But there are many BDSM relationships that are successful

Leave a Reply

