Being LGBT in the BDSM – Stereotypes Rant

Leave a comment

December 3, 2014 by jayce428

I have been into BDSM probably since I was born, and I personally couldn’t imagine a life without it. It is my life. I make collars, floggers, and many other BDSM related gear. But after coming out as gay and trans I realized that these two communities might not play well together.

LeatherMens

 

There have been many stereotypes which many people in both communities people continue to perpetuate – there seems in this ‘adult’ world were people just label someone as just their name. Everyone has a commercial description of them and adverts are assigned to them as such.

A rough idea of my commercial profile: 19-25, Caucasian, feminine male, alternative life and style, and LBGT. I can’t just be called Jayce and since my gender is male but I still have feminine features I get stereotyped under female categories. I get many questions like: ‘are you a lesbian’ and ‘what are you’. Don’t get me started when someone calls me ‘it’, it pisses me off and it’s dehumanizing. You wouldn’t even call a dog ‘it’.

There’s other stereotypes that I am also connected with because of the fallowing things: I have stretched ears, own a Ipad, and blog. Ugh… That’s it I’m a… What are they referred to as? *Five minutes later* A hipster… Maybe.

I despise labels and stereotypes their just annoying ways of getting in the way of the fact that everyone is just human.

quote-the-subtlest-and-most-pervasive-of-all-influences-are-those-which-create-and-maintain-the-repertory-walter-lippmann-307807

Leave a Reply

