The Struggle of Conformity

Leave a comment

December 2, 2014 by jayce428

quote-John-F.-Kennedy-conformity-is-the-jailer-of-freedom-and-89476

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since my school years I’ve struggled with conforming with social norms: I couldn’t find a common religion that I agreed with, I couldn’t find anything in common with others around in my area, and I was always interested in the opposite then others around me.

From a young age my father taught me nothing about religion and didn’t force one on me, and given this advantage I took it upon myself to study different religion but I find the subject of religion to be quite distasteful. I decided that religion was left to the philosophers. By the age of 6, I knew quite a lot about sex and relationships. I always researched this that caught my attention.

The thing I found out was that conformity was for the cattle, or something like that. I became agnostic and vegetarian, and also discovered I was transsexual (oh boy, now I know I understand) which lessened my anxiety and depression.

I did intense sessions of research on all the things I was interested in, and I was determined not to let the ‘cis-gendered’ or vanilla communities from ruining my life. I was pretty fed up with being depressed and living with all the anxiety.

There’s a time in life you’ve got to say ‘fuck it’, if you want to do the things you want, and stop doing things people expect you to do with your life.

Leave a Reply

